Andhra Pradesh Three-Capital Appoved - Administrative (Visakhapatnam) | Legislative (Amaravati) | Kurnool (Judicial) Capital's

The Hent, AMRAVATI: AP 3-Capital Approved A key development took place in the Andhra Pradesh capital issue on Friday. Governor Bishwabhushan Harichandan approved the repeal of CRDA-2014, Decentralization-Regional Equal Development Bill, and Decentralization of Administration. The governor who examined the bill after the state legislature approved it .. sealed his approval. With the latest decision, Visakhapatnam will no longer be the administrative capital, Amravati the legislative capital, and Kurnool the legal capital. It is learned that Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jaganmohan Reddy has decided to set up three capitals in view of administrative decentralization.

The Government has constituted the Retired IAS GN Rao Committee on 13 September 2019 for advice and suggestions on capital. The committee toured the state for three months and submitted its report on December 20, 2019. The committee recommended administrative decentralization with a view to developing the three areas. The State High Power Committee was constituted on December 29, 2019, to examine the report submitted by the Committee. It was in this context that the Boston Consultancy Group submitted its report on January 3, 2020. The High Power Committee discussed at length the reports of the two Committees.
The Cabinet then discussed the report of the High Power Committee on January 20, 2020. The bill was passed by the Assembly on January 20, 2020. As part of this, the bill was brought before the Legislature on January 22, 2020. Opposition TDP opposed it. Subsequently, on the advice of legal experts, the second decentralization bill was passed in the Assembly on June 16, 2020. With the recent royal seal of approval by the Governor on this bill, the line has been cleared for the Government's decision to come into force. Many are elated at the governor's decision.